What Nobody told you about Living Alone

A girl living alone with a cat/dog is portrayed as one of the most depressing things in society today. Whoever says that has never really lived on their own. So let me take my precious little time to pen it down as to why living alone was one of the best decisions I’ve made in my life. And yes with a cat.

In the last 6 years of my life in Chennai, its only been one year since I’ve been living all by myself. While I loved my previous housemates, I’m glad I made the decision to stay back here by myself once they left for higher studies.

This picture sums up everything about living alone.

f6771cf1e91a92f0505ae1989faa620e

But I shall throw a little more light on the many amazing facts about living alone.

  1. THE NAKED LIFE

e5b40394aeebb03ee28f707a91c22c49

Yes. You get to wear what you want when you want, with nobody judging you. It is the birth of the “No pants Life”. And theres no going back once you’ve lived the underwear life. One of the toughest things I have to do every time I visit my parents and stay for a couple of days is WEARING PANTS!

 

     2.  DIRTY DISHES

6a00d8341c823e53ef01bb0817e816970d-400wi

You get to do the dishes as you please. No pressure. Keep it for days, weeks its your wish. Okay not for weeks maybe, unless you want to have worms crawling up your hands. Same goes for the laundry. But on the plus side, laundry does not start growing worms.

       3. LEFTOVER FOOD

Yes its all yours. You dont have to share it with anyone. Can life get better than this?

       4. DO ABSOLUTELY NOTHING PRODUCTIVE

You can just binge watch your favourite shows with pizza in your underwear on a Sunday and there’s nobody to judge you and your life choices.

      5. BOND WITH YOUR PET

Having pets kinda keeps you company when you need it but not too much. You’re technically having a company which is not human which is like the best thing ever. You could just talk to them, tell them anything and they don’t really bother you with their opinions. They just roll over and expect you to rub their belly.

12834647_10205021269886343_897797727_n

Also when you do need human company you can always have people over. (and kick them out when you want to).

When there’s so much to living by yourself why will you want to give up that personal space and all the air you can get without them pants at home. Because its not socially acceptable to walk around half naked in Public, you could get arrested. And probably more than anything else this is what I’ll miss when I leave Chennai and move on to the next phase of my life. Marriage. Kids.

Lol jk, just more exams and studying.

Leave a comment